Celebrate Each Day With Your Loved Ones

I want to wish a Merry Christmas to all those who celebrate. As we reach the holiday season again, I’m reminded that I haven’t lived up to my aim to celebrate each day of 2011 in my own way. Many days, I was caught up with the to-do list and didn’t have my heart leaning into celebration. I’m re-reading those tips and trying to take them more to heart. I hope you will, too.

My friend Debi Walter recently wrote about the famous Jim Croce song, Time in a Bottle here at The Romantic Vineyard. The lyrics that struck me were: “But there never seems to be enough time to do the things we want to do once you find them. I’ve looked around enough to know that you’re the one I want to go through time with.” Listen to the song, and let it remind you that we can’t save time in a bottle and spend them again with those we love. We just get the one shot, and before we know it, another year has passed. 

When I was young, my mother and I used to watch the soap opera, Days of our Lives, which always began, “Like sand through the hourglass, so are the days of our lives.” Thankfully, I gave up soaps long ago! But I think of those words as I look at the hourglass in my son’s room. Please share your ideas for making each day really count, both as we finish up 2011 and as we make plans for 2012. Blessings to you.

Online florists offer flower delivery to help people show loved ones they care.

8 responses to “Celebrate Each Day With Your Loved Ones

  1. One thing that I’m trying to consciously do for 2012 is to make plans with my wife. For 2011 I put together my Action Plan, and am doing the same for 2012. It’s easy to get lost in the process and forget to get input; so I am making a conscious effort to include my wife in the planning process so that we can decide, together, what we want 2012 to look like.

  2. I’m celebrating each day with my wife through my year-long project to do something loving for my wife every day for a year (see my blog). It’s been tough and time consuming, but worth it.

  3. It sounds like you are both working very hard to make 2012 a priority for your marriage. I will have to check out the 365 acts of love. Matthew, thanks also for your input. Hope you and your wife have some great plans in the works. Best for 2012 to you both.
    Lori

  4. Lori, do you have a Facebook page for Marriage Gems? I don’t see one on here and I’d like to become a fan because that’s how I keep up with my favorite blogs. Please let me know when you have a moment.

  5. I regret the lack of togetherness with my father. Since I was child we lived in different places, I met him only once in a month. Could be said that I was lack of father figure. At that time I thought everything was okay, I could live without him. But now when he has passed away I just realize that I made a big mistake, living without him feel so painful. I can’t turn the time back, but one thing for sure is I don’t want to do the same mistake to my mom. Now I try to spend every beautiful day with her, I don’t want to lose any minute of it, I love her so much.

    • I’m sorry for your loss, but also glad that you turned the lesson into something positive–to cherish the time you have with loved ones. Blessings.

  6. My roommate is my best friend and we have lived together for the last 4 years. Six months ago she went to live in Hawaii with her sister and it really made me realize how important she is to me and all the joy she brings to my life. Her adventure didn’t go as planned and now she is back living with me. I am trying to let her know as much as possible how important she is to me and how glad she is back in my everyday life.

Leave a comment